Open-top double-deck, 1942 top-covered. 1968 ex BCT, 238. 2014 to museum
Built by English Electric Co., Preston in September 1934 as one of a batch of 12 production open top double deck trams. During the Second World War the open toppers were rebuilt with covered top decks to match the enclosed 'Balloons' cars supplied 1934/5. This car was treated in May 1942.
The Balloons were renumbered # 700 to # 726 in 1968, with this car becoming # 701.
In 1991 the tram received a unique red and white livery based on that applied to a fleet of ex-London 'Routemaster' buses then running in Blackpool.
# 701 retired from normal service in 2010, but in 2014 it was restored to its 1991 condition and is now part of Blackpool Transports Heritage fleet.
Seats: 40/54
EXIF
Make/Manufacturer:
NIKON CORPORATION
Model:
NIKON D5300
Software or Firmware:
Ver.1.00
Date and Time:
19.10.2016 18:22
Exposure Time:
1/160 sec
Aperture Value:
6.3
ISO Speed:
400
Focal Length:
18 mm
Equivalent Focal Length:
27 mm
Flash:
Flash did not fire, compulsory flash suppression mode